Quiche (France)

I wasn’t going to turn this into a blog, but then I figured “Why not!?” I’m making them anyway, might as well share.

I love quiche and I don’t make it nearly as often as I should, especially since it is made up of items I almost always have in my cupboard/fridge. The two quiches featured here I made for a brunch we had for my mom’s birthday, but you can put just about anything you want in a quiche. I’ve also been known to make one for dinner because it’s easy and come on now, we all know that breakfast for dinner is the best.

Quiche—basically a pastry crust with an egg mixture that is baked—is known as a French dish, though it actually originated in Germany and is popular in many countries.

There are a ton of varieties of quiche, like quiche Lorraine (bacon), quiche au fromage (cheese), quiche aux champignons (mushrooms), Florentine (spinach), or provençale (tomatoes). Really, though, you can put anything you want in a quiche. Choose a meat, choose a veggie, choose a cheese. It’s entirely up to you.

Start with a basic pastry crust. You can buy one if you want, the store-bought varieties aren’t bad, but there is something so much better about homemade. Plus, it’s actually really easy.

½ cup of cold shortening (I use the Crisco sticks because it makes it much easier to measure)
1 ¼ cups all-purpose flour
¼ teaspoon salt
5ish tablespooons cold water

Using a pastry cutter (or a couple of butter knifes, if you don’t have one), cut the cold shortening into the flour and salt until it comes together in small pea size clumps. IMG_1648-0.JPG

Add the water 1 tablespoon at a time, mixing with a fork, until it forms a ball of dough. Cover with plastic and put in the fridge for a least 30 minutes.

IMG_1649.JPG

Tip: Cold is key to a flaky crust: Cold shortening, cold water, cold dough.
Tip 2: If you are worried about the crust edges not looking perfect, don’t be. I’m not good at it at all. Just call it “Rustic” and everyone will think it’s great!

While the dough is chilling, make your filling. I promise I did not mean to rhyme that, but I’m a nerd, so I’m not changing it. :0)

Like I said, you can put whatever fillings you want in quiche, but I’m going to give you the recipe for the two I made.

10 eggs (5 for each quiche)
2 cups milk (1 for each quiche; you can use whole, low fat, nonfat, heavy cream, half-n-half, whatever floats your boat)
salt and pepper to taste

For one quiche, I crisped up some chopped bacon and grated some cheddar cheese. Normally I would have put in some sautéed leeks as well, but one of the guests isn’t a fan, so I left them out of this one. I put in a dash (literally, just a dash) of nutmeg to the egg mixture.

IMG_1652.JPG

For the 2nd quiche, I browned up some breakfast sausage in a skillet. After I removed the sausage, I left the rendered fat and caramelized some diced purple onions and some diced sweet peppers. Add about 1 teaspoon of dried oregano to the egg mix. For this one, I used a mozzarella/provolone cheese mix.

IMG_1651.JPG

Tip: mix a small amount of flour in with the cheese. It will help thicken up the egg mixture when it cooks and it keeps the cheese from falling to the bottom.

Mix your fill-ins to your egg mix and set aside.

Roll out your crusts and put in a pie pan. Poke the bottom with a fork and bake at 450 degrees F for about 8 minutes.

IMG_1653.JPGIMG_1654.JPG

Add the filling to the parbaked crusts. At this point, I covered mine in plastic wrap and put them in the fridge because I made them the night before. Normally, though, you would turn down the oven to 375 degrees F and bake them for 50 minutes to an hour. They are done when a knife inserted in the center comes out clean.

Perfect for breakfast, lunch, or dinner!

IMG_1661.JPG

IMG_1660.JPG

Let me know what your favorite quiche fillings are. I’m always looking to try new flavor combinations!!

2 thoughts on “Quiche (France)

  1. Pingback: Apple Pie | Food on the Table

  2. Pingback: Pecan Pie | Food on the Table

Leave a Reply

