Dish # 6: Chu Chee Shrimp (Thailand)

I am happy to report that this one totally made up for the semi-disaster of the last recipe.

I first heard about this dish while I was perusing the book 1001 Foods to Die For (which, if anyone feels so inclined, I would welcome as a gift). It is essentially a Thai shrimp curry and it is basic and easy and delicious.

In Thailand, shrimp or prawns are most often used for this curry, but you can also find it made with fish or scallops or a combination of seafood. Fun Fact: it is named Chu Chee because that is the sound the sauce makes when it is boiling.

I saw many different recipes for this dish, some were more complicated than others, but they all probably lead to the same end result: a slightly sweet and slightly spicy bowl of goodness.

2T canola oil
2T red curry paste
1 cup coconut milk
1 lb shrimp, peeled and deveined; tales removed
juice from 1/2 lime
2T fish sauce
3T brown sugar

In a large skillet or wok over high heat, add the canola oil and curry paste and mix together. Add 1/2 the coconut milk and bring to a boil. Add the shrimp and cook until pink.

IMG_1599.JPG

Once the shrimp is cooked through, add the rest of the coconut milk, fish sauce the brown sugar, and the lime juice. Note that all the recipes I read called for Palm Sugar. I didn’t have any palm sugar, so I just used brown sugar.

Also worth noting in this stage, the fish sauce does not smell good, but trust me, it is essential to Thai cooking and it adds great flavor. A little goes a long way.

IMG_1600

Once everything is done and you’re ready to serve, top with some Thai basil (Mediterranean basil is fine too), sliced chiles, if you want, and serve with rice.

IMG_1601.JPG

I probably could have added more sauce to my serving, but it was yummy, yummy! My one-year-old even loved the rice. She devoured it!

Leave a Reply

