Dish #3: Lomo Saltado (Peru)

I actually hesitated about doing this dish because theoretically this blog is about me trying new things and I’ve had this many times before. But it’s also just about exploring and introducing all 5 of you reading this to new cuisines.

I was first introduced to Lomo Saltado from a food truck that used to come to my husband’s old office. I liked it so much I had to learn how to make it myself.

Lomo Saltado comes from Peru and is part of the chifa influence of the country’s cuisine. A large influx of Chinese people immigrated from the southern region of China to Peru (mainly Lima) in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Naturally, the cuisines merged and today Chinese-Peruvian food is some of the most popular dishes in the country.

Here is my take on Lomo Saltado, which I must say, my husband requested seconds of, which always makes me happy.

1 lb beef steak (whatever cut you like) cut into thin strips, about 1/8″ to 1/4″
Half an onion, thinly sliced
1 Roma tomato, sliced
1/4 cup white vinegar
3 tablespoons soy sauce
2-3 cloves minced garlic
3/4 tablespoon cumin
White rice
Frozen French fries (or you can be fancy-schmancy and make them from scratch)

In a bowl, combine the first 7 ingredients.

IMG_1415.JPG

Heat vegetable oil in a large wok or skillet over medium high heat. Add meat mixture. The meat will cook pretty quickly, so make sure the rest of the dish (rice and potatoes/fries) is ready to go.

IMG_1416.JPG

Once the meat and onions are almost done, add the tomatoes. Do this last so they don’t get mushy.

IMG_1419.JPG

Serve the meat and with the fries over rice. Spoon some of the sauce the meat simmered in over the dish. Enjoy!

IMG_1420.JPG

There is an optional green sauce you can serve it with too. I’m not sure how traditional it is, but the food truck made it and it was delish!

IMG_1417.JPG

In a food processor, combine cilantro (to taste, I don’t like cilantro, so I didn’t use much), 1 seeded jalapeño, 1/2 an avocado, and 4oz of sour cream.

IMG_1418.JPG

I hope you like it!!

Leave a Reply

